Hike in & out

Summer’s days in the mountains

There are plenty of ways of expending energy in the fresh, clean Zermatt mountain air: hiking (400 km of paths), climbing and mountaineering (easy via ferrata and 38 four-thousanders), mountain biking (100 km of trails), skiing (Europe’s highest all-year-round skiing region) or playing golf (9-hole course) – but there is also the option of doing nothing, and simply enjoying summer in the Zermatt mountains from the terrace at the Hotel Riffelhaus.



From a village walk to a hike to the summit

There are over 100 options for where to head with your walking boots or a mountain bike in and around Zermatt. Here are a couple of examples. 1. The Dorfwaldweg (Village Forest Path) offers new arrivals a perfect opportunity to get acclimatised, and is also ideal for walks with children. 2. The Breithorn (4164 m), with its many summits, is a strong, glaciered mountain crest. The normal climb is considered as one of the easiest routes for climbing a four-thousand metre mountain.



Climbers and mountain-lovers

On 14 July 1865, climbers stood on the summit of the Matterhorn for the first time in history. Known as the Horu by locals, the mountain may be world-famous today, but for a long time, it was regarded as unscalable. Yet since that historic day in 1865, the Matterhorn has become a dream destination for outdoor pursuits, and even for people who enjoy admiring mountains rather than climbing them, this unmistakable peak is a true icon of the Zermatt panorama. One look at the Matterhorn and you’re hooked – you just know you’re going to have to come back. In fact, we believe you should visit at least once a year to marvel at the mountain up close and in person.



Dream of winter in high summer

The Zermatt skiing area is Europe’s highest skiing region, with more than 360 kilometres of stunning pistes in both Switzerland and Italy. Lifts go up as far as the Klein Matterhorn, at 3,883 metres above sea level. Lovers of the snow can enjoy the area even without skis, as this sun-drenched mountain region offers plenty of magnificent views and even more mountain restaurants with glorious sun terraces.

Hike in & out

Jours d’été à la montagne

Etre actif en plein air, à l’air frais et pur de la montagne: randonnées (400 kilomètres de chemins), alpinisme et escalade (parcours d’escalade faciles et 38 sommets de plus de quatre mille mètres), VTT (100 kilomètres de chemins), ski (le domaine skiable le plus haut d’Europe ouvert toute l’année), golf (parcours de golf 9 trous) – ou simplement vous adonner aux plaisirs de la farniente et profiter de l’été dans les montagnes de Zermatt, sur la terrasse de l’Hotel Riffelhaus.



Du tour du village au parcours de grande randonnée

Voilà seulement deux exemples tirés des 100 idées de sorties possibles autour du Cervin, que ce soit en chaussures de marche ou en VTT. 1. Le Dorfwaldweg (chemin forestier du village) est idéal pour s’acclimater à la destination de vacances et pour se balader avec des enfants. 2. Le Breithorn (4164 m) est une crête alpine fortement glacée comptant plusieurs sommets. L’ascension classique est considérée comme l’un des itinéraires les plus simples pour gravir un sommet de 4’000 mètres.



Conquérants des sommets et amoureux de la montagne

Le 14 juillet 1865, le sommet du Cervin fut conquis pour la première fois. Le Horu – nom donné par les autochtones à ce sommet mondialement connu – a longtemps été considéré comme invincible. Désormais, le Cervin est un objectif sportif de rêve. Mais la montagne reine est également d’une beauté sans égale dans le paysage montagneux de Zermatt pour les fans de montagne ne goûtant pas les plaisirs de l’escalade. On ne se lasse jamais d’admirer le Cervin, il a un goût de revenez-y. On devrait aller le voir de près au moins une fois l’an.



L’été, pensez déjà aux vacances d’hiver

Le domaine skiable de Zermatt est le domaine skiable le plus haut d’Europe et offre des plaisirs à la neige illimités, sur 360 kilomètres de pistes en Suisse et en Italie. Les remontées mécaniques montent jusqu’à une hauteur de 3’883 mètres, sur le Petit Cervin. Dans la région de montagne ensoleillée offrant de nombreux panoramas et encore plus de restaurants avec de belles terrasses, les adeptes de la neige s’y sentiront également très bien sans skis.